We are in process of moving to a single website for the Education Authority. When using this website, please also check the EA website www.eani.org.uk to ensure you are accessing the most up to date information.

Jump to content

WELB
Tell us what you think W3C Logo
Western Education & Library Board,
1 Hospital Road,
Omagh, Co Tyrone,
BT79 0AW

Telephone: 028 8241 1411
Fax: 028 8241 1400
Email: info@welbni.org
Textphone: 028 8241 1550
Press:comms@welbni.org

Education Welfare

Chief Education Welfare Officer   
Mrs Alex Barr T: 028 8241 1477  E: alex.barr@eani.org.uk 
Deputy Chief Education Welfare Officer (Operations)
Mrs Patricia Devine  T: 028 8241 1461  E: patricia.devine@eani.org.uk 
Deputy Chief Education Welfare Officer (CPSSS)
Miss Marion McBride T: 028 8241 1467 E: marion.mcbride@eani.org.uk
Deputy Chief Education Welfare Officer (CPSSS)
Mr Martin McQuaid T: 028 8241 1478 E: martin.mcquaid@eani.org.uk
Deputy Chief Education Welfare Officer (CPSSS)
Mr Godfrey Young T: 028 8241 1590 E: godfrey.young@eani.org.uk
Senior Education Welfare Officer - Enniskillen & Omagh
Ms Arlene Wright  T: 028 6634 3923

 E: arlene.wright@eani.org.uk

Senior Education Welfare Officer - Strabane & Omagh
Miss Patricia Houston T: 028 7127 2300 E: patricia.houston@eani.org.uk
Senior Education Welfare Officer - Derry South 
Mr Michael Cunningham  T: 028 7127 2300  E: michael.cunningham@eani.org.uk 
Senior Education Welfare Officer - Derry North & vady
Ms Aileen Lynch  T: 028 7127 2300  E: aileen.lynch@eani.org.uk 

The EAWR has a duty to ensure that all children of compulsory school age receive a suitable education, either by regular attendance at school or otherwise. This duty is exercised through the Education Welfare Service and the dominant function of its Education Welfare Officers is to investigate children's absence from school and to promote good attendance. The Education Welfare Service also undertake a number of other important related duties around:

  • Child protection

  • Child employment

  • Safeguarding Children Who Perform - performance licences & chaperone licening

  • Special educational needs

  • Child behaviour in schools

  • Suspensions and expulsions

Education Welfare Officers work closely with schools and families to resolve attendance issues and difficulties between home and school. The key to success is an effective working relationship between schools and the Education Welfare Service. This includes:

  • Shared policies and operational practices between the Education Welfare teams and the schools in their area

  • Clearly defined roles of school staff and the Education Welfare Officer

  • How much time the Education Welfare Officer will devote to the school

  • Expectation of the quality of the Education Welfare Officer's Service

  • Arrangements for referral, regular review, monitoring and evaluation

  • Procedures for resolving difficulties

It is important that the Education Welfare Officer maintains an appropriate balance in resolving difficulties between schools and families so mediation is more appropriate than advocacy.

For further information about the Education Welfare Service in Northern Ireland see www.education-support.org.uk /parents/ews

For information on the following click on the links below:

Chaperone Licences
Child Employment Permits
Child Protection Support Service for Schools
Licences for Children Who Perform